Frank Lloyd Wright Guild Swap

The theme for our Yankee Swap this month was Frank Lloyd Wright.

I chose one of my favorite pieces of architecture as inspiration: Falling Water.

In this house FLW commingles the natural with the created so that the living space has aspects of both.

I generalized this idea when I made my pouch and integrated straight lines with more natural feeling free-motion quilting.  I chose colors to mimic the stone and water that are so central to his structure.

Anna (of woollykat) received my pouch in the swap in exchange for an amazing mini quilt of a FLW woodblock (or stained-glass?) design.  Hopefully pictures to follow on her blog.

In exchange, I got this lovely pouch from Dorie (of Tumblingblocks) based on FLW’s Guggenheim Museum.

I can’t wait to see what the guild comes up with for next month’s swap: metamorphosis.  Should be a good one!

Leave a Reply

