A Babe in the Woods

I was recently inspired by a story I heard about a new quilter preparing 13 quilts for her wedding.  I am not sure where or when the tradition originated (American frontier, pioneer era?) but it is tied up in the idea of a dowry or hope chest to prepare a new bride to set up her own household.  The idea is to have one quilt for each month of the year plus one special wedding quilt.

I started seriously quilting when I was pregnant last year and the first quilt I made start to finish was just in time for my daughter’s birth.  So, drawing from tradition but adding a little different spin, my goal is to give her a quilt on her birthday every year.  I don’t know if I will be able to keep up with this as she gets older but I will hopefully complete a quilt sometime within the year of her birthday.   That way she will have plenty to keep her warm and remember her first home (hopefully fondly) when she starts her own home.

This year I made this simple charm square quilt for her first birthday.  I couldn’t resist the grey and red with the baby blue and pink in Aneela Hoey’s Walk in the Woods line.   I added in some Kona white, Bella blue raspberry, and Bella red (I think).  I used Ruby Sundae Stripe for the binding – it looks very cool on the bias!

This was my first attempt at free motion quilting!  I wanted the quilting to look like meandering paths so I went with a stippling pattern…I think it turned out pretty well (after a lot of mishaps and unsewing).  I certainly learned a lot for next time!

One thought on “A Babe in the Woods

Leave a Reply

